Journal of Urology

Journal Information
ISSN / EISSN : 0022-5347 / 1527-3792
Total articles ≅ 141,131
Current Coverage
Archived in

Latest articles in this journal

Yair Lotan, Joep de Jong, Vinnie Y. T. Liu, Tarek A. Bismar, Stephen A. Boorjian, Huei-Chung Huang, Elai Davicioni, Omar Y. Mian, Jonathan L. Wright, Andrea Necchi, et al.
Purpose: Neoadjuvant chemotherapy (NAC) prior to radical cystectomy (RC) in patients with non-metastatic muscle-invasive bladder cancer (MIBC) confers an absolute survival benefit of 5-10%. There is evidence that molecular differences between tumors may impact response to therapy, highlighting a need for clinically validated biomarkers to predict response to NAC. Materials and Methods: Four bladder cancer cohorts were included. Inverse probability weighting was used to make baseline characteristics (age, sex, and clinical tumor stage) between NAC-treated and untreated groups more comparable. Molecular subtypes were determined using a commercial genomic subtyping classifier. Survival rates were estimated using weighted Kaplan Meier (KM) curves. Cox proportional hazards (PH) models were used to evaluate the primary and secondary study endpoints of overall survival (OS) and cancer-specific survival (CSS), respectively. Results: A total of 601 patients with MIBC were included, where 247 had been treated with NAC and RC and 354 underwent RC without NAC. With NAC, the overall net benefit to OS and CSS at three years was 7% and 5%, respectively. After controlling for clinicopathologic variables, non-luminal tumors had greatest benefit from NAC with 10% greater OS at 3 years (71% vs 61%) while luminal tumors had minimal benefit (63% vs 65%) for NAC vs. non-NAC, respectively. Conclusions: In patients with MIBC, a commercially available molecular subtyping assay revealed non-luminal tumors received the greatest benefit from NAC, while patients with luminal tumors experienced a minimal survival benefit. A genomic classifier may help identify patients with MIBC who would benefit most from NAC.
Daniel J. A. Margolis, Masoom A. Haider, Caroline M. Moore
Michelle Kim, Shulin Wu, Sharron X. Lin, Rory K. Crotty, Mukesh Haringhani, Adam S. Feldman, , Douglas M. Dahl
Jim C. Hu, Timothy D. McClure, Daniel J. A. Margolis
Mohit Butaney, Emily Marie Chan, Amarnath Rambhatla
Back to Top Top